Softball pic

2016 NCAA Division 1 Softball Conference Tournaments

The regular season is coming to a close for the 2016 NCAA Division 1 Softball season, but there is still a chance for teams to make the NCAA Softball Tournament with a win in the Conference Tournament. Below are the tournaments for all conferences in NCAA Division 1 Softball.

Five conferences do not have a post season tournament and instead will award their automatic bid to the regular season champion. Those five conferences are the Big 12, Big West, Mountain West, Pac-12, and West Coast.

The regular season champion is included below for each conference because there are several cases where the top seed in the conference is hosting the tournament. In all, there are 32 automatic bids handed out while another 32 at-large bids will be determined by the Softball Selection Committee.

ConferenceRegular Season ChampTournament ChampDatesLocationHost
American EastBinghamton*MaineMay 11 - 14Binghamton, New YorkBinghamton
AmericanSouth FloridaTulsaMay 12 - 14Tulsa, OklahomaTulsa
ACCFlorida StateFlorida StateMay 12 - 14Raleigh, North CarolinaNC State
Atlantic 10FordhamFordhamMay 11 - 15Arlington, VirginiaGeorge Washington
Atlantic SunFlorida Gulf CoastSouth Carolina UpstateMay 11 - 14Fort Myers, FloridaFlorida Gulf Coast
Big 12OklahomaNo Post Season Tournament
Big EastDePaulButlerMay 13 - 14Rosemont, IllinoisDePaul
Big SkyWeber State*Weber StateMay 12 - 14Ogden UtahWeber State
Big SouthLongwoodLongwoodMay 11 - 14Rock Hill, South CarolinaWinthrop
Big TenMichiganMinnesotaMay 12 - 14University Park, PennsylvaniaPenn State
Big WestCal State FullertonNo Post Season Tournament
ColonialJames Madison*James MadisonMay 11 - 13Harrisonburg, VirginiaJames Madison
C-USAFlorida AtlanticFlorida AtlanticMay 11 - 14Denton, TexasNorth Texas
HorizonIllinois-ChicagoValparaisoMay 11 - 14Chicago, IllinoisIllinois-Chicago
IvyNorth: Harvard
South: Princeton
PrincetonMay 7 - 8Cambridge, MassachusettsHarvard
Mid-AmericanKent StateMiami (OH)May 11 - 14Akron, OhioAkron
Metro AtlanticMarist*MaristMay 11 - 14Poughkeepsie, New YorkMarist
Mid-EasternDelaware StateFlorida A&MMay 12 - 14Ormond Beach, FloridaBethune-Cookman
Missouri ValleyWichita StateWichita StateMay 12 - 14Carbondale, IllinoisSouthern Illinois
Mountain WestFresno StateNo Post Season Tournament
NortheastLong Island University*Long Island UniversityMay 12 - 14Brooklyn, New YorkLIU Brooklyn
Ohio ValleyJacksonville StateJacksonville StateMay 11 - 14Oxford, AlabamaNeutral Site
Pac-12OregonNo Post Season Tournament
PatriotLehigh*Boston UniversityMay 12 - 15Bethlehem, PennsylvaniaLehigh
SECFloridaAuburnMay 11 - 14Starkville, MississippiMississippi State
SouthernSamfordSamfordMay 11 - 14Greensboro, North CarolinaUNC Greensboro
SouthlandMcNeese StateMcNeese StateMay 11 - 13Lake Charles, LouisianaMcNeese State
SWACTexas SouthernAlabama StateMay 11 - 14Irondale, AlabamaNeutral Site
SummitNorth Dakota StateNorth Dakota StateMay 11 - 14Fargo, North DakotaNorth Dakota State
Sun BeltLouisiana LafayetteLouisiana LafayetteMay 11 - 14Mobile, AlabamaSouth Alabama
WACNew Mexico StateCal State BakersfieldMay 12 - 14Seattle, WashingtonSeattle University
West CoastBYUNo Post Season Tournament

* Denotes Highest Seed Hosts Conference Tournament

As the conference tournament champions are known, the table above will be filled out. The conference tournaments listed above will help determine the field for the 2016 NCAA Division 1 Softball tournament. We will find out which teams made the tournament on Sunday, May 15, 2016 at 10 PM Eastern Time on ESPNU with the Selection Show.

The 2016 NCAA Softball Tournament will begin on May 20, 2016 at 16 campus sites in the Regional round in a double elimination format. Each regional will have four teams. The 16 teams who win their regional will move on to the Super Regional where they will compete in a best-of-three series to be held between May 26 and May 29.

The 8 winners of the Super Regional round will move on to the 2016 Women’s College World Series to be played in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma starting on Thursday, June 2. The Championship Series will begin Monday, June 6 with a best-of-three format to determine the winner of the 2016 Women’s College World Series.

Leave a Reply