After a one-year absence, the NCAA Division 1 softball tournament has returned in 2021 to the delight of many. UCLA is the defending national champion after defeating Oklahoma two games to none in the 2019 Championship Series. 64 teams will contest the opening round of the tournament at the site of 16 pre-determined sites. The 16 winners from the Regional round will then play in the Super Regional round. Finally, the last 8 teams will converge on Oklahoma City to determine this year’s national champion. Below is a table showing the 16 national seeds. Please note that Duke is the #13 national seed but Georgia will host the regional as determined by the NCAA.

Regional Schedule

Super Regional Schedule

WCWS Schedule

1Oklahoma45-2Big 12
5Oklahoma State42-9Big 12
10Florida State39-10-1ACC
12Texas39-11Big 12
15Arizona State32-14Pac-12

2021 NCAA Division 1 Softball Tournament Teams

Below are all 64 teams that have made the 2021 NCAA Division 1 Softball tournament. 31 teams qualified automatically as conference champions with the exception of the Ivy League. The conference opted out of playing sports in the spring of 2021 with its spot in the tournament going to an at-large team. There were 33 at-large teams selected for this season’s tournament.

In the sortable table below, the automatic bids are listed first followed by the at-large bids listed in the alphabetical order of conference. The records for each team and which regional site they have been assigned to are provided as well.

America EastUMBC25-11Tournament ChampionsTucson
AmericanWichita State39-11-1Tournament ChampionsNorman
ACCDuke42-10Tournament ChampionsAthens
Atlantic 10George Washington37-9Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
Atlantic SunLiberty42-13Tournament ChampionsKnoxville
Big 12Oklahoma45-2Tournament ChampionsNorman
Big EastVillanova36-13Tournament ChampionsTucson
Big SkyPortland State15-24Tournament ChampionsSeattle
Big SouthCampbell27-17Tournament ChampionsStillwater
Big TenMichigan36-6Regular Season
Big WestLong Beach State30-9Regular Season ChampionsLos Angeles
ColonialJames Madison34-1Tournament ChampionsKnoxville
C-USAWestern Kentucky31-13Tournament ChampionsAthens
HorizonUIC29-21Tournament ChampionsColumbia
Ivy LeagueNoneN/AChampionship Series WinnerN/A
Mid-AmericanMiami (OH)46-8Regular Season ChampionsLexington
Metro AtlanticManhattan22-14Tournament ChampionsFayetteville
Mid-EasternMorgan State24-15Tournament ChampionsNorman
Missouri ValleySouthern Illinois37-14Tournament ChampionsTempe
Mountain WestFresno State36-10Regular Season ChampionsLos Angeles
NortheastSt. Francis (PA)40-8Tournament ChampionsAustin
Ohio ValleyEastern Kentucky35-15Tournament ChampionsKnoxville
Pac-12UCLA41-4Regular Season ChampionsLos Angeles
PatriotBoston U.36-2Tournament ChampionsStillwater
SECAlabama45-7Tournament ChampionsTuscaloosa
SouthernUNC Greensboro34-15Tournament ChampionsAthens
SouthlandMcNeese34-24Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
SWACAlabama State19-27Tournament ChampionsTuscaloosa
SummitSouth Dakota State42-6Tournament ChampionsFayetteville
Sun BeltLouisiana44-10Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
WACSeattle29-19Tournament ChampionsSeattle
West CoastBYU36-15Regular Season ChampionsTempe
AmericanCentral Florida39-17-1At-LargeTallahassee
AmericanSouth Florida29-17At-LargeGainesville
ACCFlorida State39-101At-LargeTallahassee
ACCNotre Dame31-13At-LargeLexington
ACCVirginia Tech33-13At-LargeTempe
Atlantic SunKennesaw State26-25At-LargeTallahassee
Big 12Baylor27-21At-LargeGainesville
Big 12Iowa State32-21At-LargeColumbia
Big 12Oklahoma State42-9At-LargeStillwater
Big 12Texas39-11At-LargeAustin
Big TenMinnesota29-11At-LargeLos Angeles
Big TenNorthwestern29-15At-LargeLexington
Missouri ValleyNorthern Iowa31-18At-LargeColumbia
Pac-12Arizona State32-14At-LargeTempe
Pac 12Oregon37-15At-LargeAustin
SECLSU32-19At-LargeBaton Rouge
SECOle Miss34-20At-LargeTucson
SECMississippi State33-23At-LargeStillwater
SECTexas A&M31-21At-LargeNorman
Sun BeltSouth Alabama30-19At-LargeGainesville
Sun BeltTexas State38-12At-LargeAustin
Sun BeltTroy36-15At-LargeTuscaloosa

Regional Schedule

The 2021 NCAA Division 1 Softball tournament will kick off with 16 regionals with four teams in each regional at the site of the 16 pre-determined hosts. Each regional employs the double-elimination format and will take place from Thursday, May 20 to Sunday, May 23.

The regionals are listed in order of the potential Super Regional matchup (i.e. #1 vs #16, #8 vs #9, #5 vs. #12, etc.). All dates and times listed below are tentative. Updates, along with final scores, will be made as soon as the changes are known.

Norman Regional (#1 Seed)

Seattle Regional (#16 Seed)

Columbia Regional (#8 Seed)

Knoxville Regional (#9 Seed)

Stillwater Regional (#5 Seed)

Austin Regional (#12 Seed)

Gainesville Regional (#4 Seed)

Athens Regional (#13 Seed)

Tuscaloosa Regional (#3 Seed)

Lexington Regional (#14 Seed)

Fayetteville Regional (#6 Seed)

Tucson Regional (#11 Seed)

Baton Rouge Regional (#7 Seed)

Tallahassee Regional (#10 Seed)

Los Angeles Regional (#2 Seed)

Tempe Regional (#15 Seed)

Super Regionals

The Super Regional round for the 2021 NCAA Division 1 softball tournament is a best-of-three series between the 16 winners of the regional round. The games will take place between Thursday, May 27 through Sunday, May 30 at the selected campus sites. The table below shows the schedule for each Super Regional with the better-seeded team as the host.

Norman Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
1Oklahoma49 (5 Innings)-

Columbia Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
James Madison217

Stillwater Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
5Oklahoma State622

Gainesville Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3

Tuscaloosa Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3

Fayetteville Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3

Baton Rouge Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
10Florida State14-
7LSU03 (9 Innings)-

Los Angeles Super Regional

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
Virginia Tech700

Women’s College World Series Schedule

The 2021 Women’s College World Series will take place between Thursday, June 3 and Wednesday, June 9 with every game shown on ESPN’s network channels. All of the games will take place at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium and OGE Energy Field in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. The bracket below shows the double-elimination format with the two final teams meeting in a best-of-three Championship Series on Monday, June 7, Tuesday, June 8, and Wednesday, June 9 (if necessary).

Women’s College World Series Championship Series

SeedTeamGame 1Game 2Game 3
10Florida State821

Photo courtesy of Oklahoma University Athletics

Leave a Reply