Oklahoma payers carry a piece of the outfield wall after winning the second game of the NCAA softball tournament in the Norman Super Regional between the University of Oklahoma (OU) and Northwestern in Norman, Okla., Saturday, May 25, 2019. Oklahoma won 8-0 to send them to the Women's College World Series.[Bryan Terry/The Oklahoman]

2019 Women’s College World Series Schedule

The 2019 NCAA Division 1 Softball season has come down to the final 8 teams vying to win the Women’s College World Series. An updated bracket can be found here. Each game of the 2019 Women’s College World Series will take place from ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

The remaining 8 teams will compete in a double elimination format until only two teams remain. Those two teams will then play in a best-of-three championship series to determine the 2019 national champion.

The Florida State Seminoles were the defending national champion after defeating the Washington Huskies in the 2018 championship series. The Seminoles lost to Oklahoma State in the Super Regionals. The Oklahoma Sooners won the national championship in both 2016 and 2017 will be back seeking their third title in four seasons.

Seven of the eight schools in the Women’s College World Series have previously made an appearance in Oklahoma City. Minnesota is making its first appearance in the WCWS. Of the seven teams that have previously made the WCWS, Arizona has had the longest absence since their last appearance in 2010. The below table shows the eight teams taking part in the WCWS along with their last appearance, record, conference affiliation, and all-time WCWS appearances.

SeedTeamLast WCWSRecordConferenceWCWS Appearances
1Oklahoma201854-3Big 1213th
7MinnesotaNone46-12Big 101st
13Oklahoma State201144-15Big 128th

The Women’s College World Series will get underway on Thursday, May 30 with four games scheduled for the opening day. The entire schedule can be found in the table below with the Championship Series located in a separate table.

The tables below will be updated with final scores as the games go final each day. Please note all times listed below are Eastern. The Championship Series schedule is listed at the bottom of the article.

DateGameTime (EST)
Team #1Team #2ScoreNotes
5/30/19Game 112 PM
#6 Arizona#3 Washington3-18 Innings
5/30/19Game 22:30 PM
#7 Minnesota#2 UCLA2-7
5/30/19Game 37 PM
#13 Okla. State#5 Florida2-1
5/30/19Game 49:30 PM
#8 Alabama#1 Oklahoma2-3
5/31/19Game 57 PM
#2 UCLA#6 Arizona6-2
5/31/19Game 69:30 PM
#1 Oklahoma#13 Okla. State6-1
6/1/19Game 712 PM
#3 Washington#7 Minnesota5-3Minnesota Eliminated
6/1/19Game 82:30 PM
#5 Florida#8 Alabama3-15Florida Eliminated / 5 Innings
6/1/19Game 97 PM
#13 Okla. State#3 Washington0-1Okla. State Eliminated
6/1/19Game 109:30 PM
#8 Alabama#6 Arizona2-0Arizona Eliminated
6/2/19Game 111 PM
#3 Washington#2 UCLA0-3Washington Eliminated / 10 Innings
6/2/19Game 123:30 PM
#1 Oklahoma#8 Alabama0-18 Innings
6/2/19Game 137 PM
Game 11 LoserGame 11 WinnerElimination
Game / If Necessary
6/2/19Game 149:30 PM
#8 Alabama#1 Oklahoma3-7Alabama Eliminated

2019 Women’s College World Series Championship Series

DateGameTime (EST)
Team #1Team #2Score
6/3/19Game 17 PM
#2 UCLA#1 Oklahoma16-3
6/4/19Game 28 PM
#1 Oklahoma#2 UCLA4-5
6/5/19Game 38 PM
#2 UCLA#1 OklahomaIf Necessary

Photo courtesy of Bryan Terry / The Oklahoman

Leave a Reply