Editor’s note: The tables and schedules below will be updated as the final selections are announced and game time information becomes available. Scores will be continuously updated as games finish.

The 2023 NCAA Divison1 Softball tournament is almost here with 64 teams ready to compete for a national title. Two-time Defending national champions Oklahoma will lead the way after another incredible regular season in which the Sooners went 51-1 and won the Big 12 Championship.

The field of 64 will contest the Regional round at one of the 16 pre-determined sites. The 16 Regional winners will then play in a best-of-three Super Regional round. The 8 Super Regional winners will advance to the Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City to determine the 2023 NCAA Division 1 softball national champion. Below are the 16 national seeds along with each team’s record and conference. If you’d prefer to skip straight to the schedule for each round, please click the corresponding link below.

Regional Round Update: The regionals have gone to form in the first two days with the exception of #2 UCLA. The Bruins lost the opening two games to become the first-seeded team knocked out of the tournament. #11 Arkansas became the second seeded team to lose in the regionals when Oregon hit a walk-off grand slam to advance to the Super Regionals. Louisiana shocked the #10 LSU Tigers with not one but two wins on Sunday to advance to the Super Regionals over their bayou rivals. Not to be outdone, McNeese nearly pulled off the same feat but #7 Washington rallied from a 6-0 deficit in the seventh inning in the elimination game to avoid the regional defeat at home.

Regional Schedule

Super Regional Schedule

Women’s College World Series Schedule

1Oklahoma51-1Big 12
3Florida State50-8ACC
6Oklahoma State41-14Big 12
12Northwestern38-11Big Ten
13Texas42-13-1Big 12

2023 NCAA Division 1 Softball Tournament Teams

Below are all 64 teams that have been selected for the 2023 NCAA Division 1 Softball tournament. 32 teams qualified automatically as conference champions and the other 32 teams were selected via at-large bids. The Mountain West Conference brought back the conference tournament for the first time since 2006 to determine its automatic bid to the tournament. Meanwhile, the Pac-12 Conference offered a tournament for the first time to determine its automatic bid.

In the sortable table below, the automatic bids are listed first followed by the at-large bids listed in the alphabetical order of conference. The records for each team and which regional site they have been assigned to are provided as well. There are links provided in the “Regional” column to help you quickly navigate to a specific regional schedule. The 16 seeded teams are bolded with the corresponding national seed in parentheses.

America EastUMBC26-15Tournament ChampionsStillwater
AmericanUCF39-19Tournament ChampionsTallahassee
ACCFlorida State (#3)50-8Tournament ChampionsTallahassee
Atlantic 10George Mason35-22Tournament ChampionsDurham
Atlantic SunCentral Arkansas44-10Tournament ChampionsTuscaloosa
Big 12Oklahoma (#1)51-1Tournament ChampionsNorman
Big EastSeton Hall42-16Tournament ChampionsAustin
Big SkyNorthern Colorado26-21Tournament ChampionsSeattle
Big SouthCampbell41-16Tournament ChampionsDurham
Big TenNorthwestern (#12)38-11Tournament ChampionsEvanston
Big WestLong Beach State31-21Regular Season ChampionsPalo Alto
ColonialHofstra29-25Tournament ChampionsNorman
C-USAMiddle Tennessee39-18Tournament ChampionsTuscaloosa
HorizonNorthern Kentucky23-30Tournament ChampionsKnoxville
Ivy LeagueHarvard29-15-1Championship Series WinnerFayetteville
MACMiami (OH)37-18Tournament ChampionsEvanston
MAACMarist29-28Tournament ChampionsTallahassee
MEACNorth Carolina Central19-33Tournament ChampionsAthens
Missouri ValleySouthern Illinois36-18Tournament ChampionsSalt Lake City
Mountain WestSan Diego State35-15Tournament ChampionsLos Angeles
NortheastLong Island32-24Tournament ChampionsTuscaloosa
Ohio ValleyEastern Illinois34-19Tournament ChampionsEvanston
Pac-12Utah (#15)37-13Tournament ChampionsSalt Lake City
PatriotBoston U,51-8Tournament ChampionsAthens
SECTennessee (#4)44-8Tournament ChampionsKnoxville
SouthernUNC Greensboro37-20Tournament ChampionsClemson
SouthlandMcNeese44-14Tournament ChampionsSeattle
SWACPrairie View26-18Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
SummitOmaha32-15Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
Sun BeltLouisiana46-13Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
WACGrand Canyon46-11Tournament ChampionsLos Angeles
West CoastLoyola Marymount27-20Regular Season ChampionsPalo Alto
ACCClemson (#16)46-9At-LargeClemson
ACCDuke (#8)45-10At-LargeDurham
ACCNotre Dame29-17-1At-LargeFayetteville
ACCVirginia Tech37-18At-LargeAthens
AmericanWichita State43-10At-LargeStillwater
ASUNLiberty38-20At-LargeLos Angeles
Big 12Baylor39-16At-LargeSalt Lake City
Big 12Oklahoma State (#6)41-14At-LargeStillwater
Big 12Texas (#13)42-13-1At-LargeAustin
Big WestCal State Fullerton33-19At-LargeClemson
Big TenIndiana42-16At-LargeKnoxville
Big TenMinnesota37-17At-LargeSeattle
Big TenNebraska34-20At-LargeStillwater
Pac-12Stanford (#9)40-13At-LargePalo Alto
Pac-12UCLA (#2)52-5At-LargeLos Angeles
Pac-12Washington (#7)38-12At-LargeSeattle
SECAlabama (#5)40-18At-LargeTuscaloosa
SECArkansas (#11)38-17At-LargeFayetteville
SECFlorida36-20At-LargePalo Alto
SECGeorgia (#14)39-13At-LargeAthens
SECLSU (#10)40-15At-LargeBaton Rouge
SECOle Miss30-26At-LargeSalt Lake City
SECSouth Carolina37-20At-LargeTallahassee
SECTexas A&M33-19At-LargeAustin
Sun BeltTexas State34-23-1At-LargeAustin

Regional Schedule

The 2023 NCAA Division 1 Softball tournament will kick off with 16 regionals with four teams at the site of the 16 pre-determined regional hosts. Each regional employs the double-elimination format, which will take place from Friday, May 19 to Sunday, May 21. The regionals are listed in order of the potential Super Regional matchup (i.e. #1 vs #16, #8 vs #9, #5 vs. #12, etc.). All dates and times listed below are tentative. Updates and final scores will be made as soon as the changes are known.

Norman Regional (#1 Seed)

Clemson Regional (#16 Seed)

Palo Alto Regional (#9 Seed)

Durham Regional (#8 Seed)

Tuscaloosa Regional (#5 Seed)

Evanston Regional (#12 Seed)

Austin Regional (#13 Seed)

Knoxville Regional (#4 Seed)

Tallahassee Regional (#3 Seed)

Athens Regional (#14 Seed)

Fayetteville Regional (#11 Seed)

Stillwater Regional (#6 Seed)

Seattle Regional (#7 Seed)

Baton Rouge Regional (#10 Seed)

Salt Lake City Regional (#15 Seed)

Los Angeles Regional (#2 Seed)

Super Regionals Schedule

The Super Regional round for the 2023 NCAA Division 1 softball tournament is a best-of-three series between the 16 winners of the regional round. The games will take place between Thursday, May 25 through Sunday, May 28 at the selected campus sites. The spreadsheet below shows the schedule for each Super Regional with the better-seeded team as the host.

Women’s College World Series Schedule

The 2023 Women’s College World Series will feature the second year of an extended schedule. Instead of as many as 17 games packed into 6 days, this year’s format will take place over 8 days including one day off preceding the Championship Series.

The action will take place starting on Thursday, June 1 with 4 games followed by three consecutive days of two games a day. Monday will feature the final round of elimination with up to 4 games followed by the one-day break on Tuesday. The best-of-three Championship Series will be on Wednesday, June 7, Thursday, June 8, and Friday, June 9 (if necessary). Every game will be shown on ESPN’s family of network channels and will take place at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium and OGE Energy Field in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Photo courtesy of Oklahoma Athletics

Leave a Reply