2016 NCAA Division 1 Baseball Tournament Teams Released

The 2016 NCAA Division 1 Baseball Tournament teams have been announced by the NCAA. 64 teams will compete to play in the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska. The bracket can be found here at the website.

The 2016 NCAA Division 1 Baseball Tournament begins on Friday, June 3 with regional play. The regionals will be broken down into 16 host locations featuring a double elimination. The 16 winners from the Regional round will then move on to play in the Super Regionals starting Friday, June 10 with a best of three format.

The 8 winners of the Super Regionals will then contest the 2016 College World Series starting on Saturday, June 18 and end on June 28 or 29. The College World Series is held at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Below are the 8 National Seeds as well as the 8 other hosts for the regional round.

3Miami (FL)45-11ACC
4Texas A&M45-14SEC
5Texas Tech41-16Big 12
6Mississippi State41-16-1SEC
Regional HostNorth Carolina State35-20ACC
Regional HostSouth Carolina42-15SEC
Regional HostLouisiana Lafayette41-19Sun Belt
Regional HostVirginia37-20ACC
Regional HostTCU42-15Big 12
Regional HostOle Miss43-17SEC
Regional HostVanderbilt43-17SEC
Regional HostFlorida State37-20ACC

Below are the 64 teams that qualified for the NCAA Tournament. The automatic bids that were handed out to conference winners are listed first followed by the at-large bids. The table is sortable by any of the column headers (Conference, Team, Record, Route, or Regional).

American EastBinghamton30-23Tournament ChampionsCollege Station
AmericanConnecticut37-23Tournament ChampionsGainesville
ACCClemson42-18Tournament ChampionsClemson
Atlantic 10Rhode Island30-25Tournament ChampionsColumbia
Atlantic SunStetson29-29Tournament ChampionsCoral Gables
Big 12TCU42-15Tournament ChampionsFort Worth
Big EastXavier30-28Tournament ChampionsNashville
Big SouthCoastal Carolina44-15Tournament ChampionsRaleigh
Big TenOhio State43-18-1Tournament ChampionsLouisville
Big WestCal State Fullerton35-21Regular Season ChampionsStarkville
ColonialWilliam & Mary29-29Tournament ChampionsCharlottesville
C-USASouthern Miss40-18Tournament ChampionsTallahassee
HorizonWright State44-15Tournament ChampionsLouisville
IvyPrinceton24-19Championship Series WinnerLafayette
Metro AtlanticFairfield32-24Tournament ChampionsLubbock
Mid-AmericanWestern Michigan22-32Tournament ChampionsLouisville
Mid-EasternBethune-Cookman29-25Tournament ChampionsGainesville
Missouri ValleyDallas Baptist41-17Tournament ChampionsLubbock
Mountain WestNew Mexico38-21Tournament ChampionsLubbock
NortheastBryant47-10Tournament ChampionsCharlottesville
Ohio ValleySoutheast Missouri State39-19Tournament ChampionsStarkville
Pac-12Utah25-27Regular Season ChampionsOxford
PatriotNavy42-14-1Tournament ChampionsRaleigh
SECTexas A&M45-14Tournament ChampionsCollege Station
SouthernWestern Carolina30-29Tournament ChampionsClemson
SouthlandSam Houston State41-20Tournament ChampionsLafayette
SWACAlabama State38-15Tournament ChampionsTallahassee
SummitOral Roberts38-19Tournament ChampionsFort Worth
Sun BeltLouisiana Lafayette41-19Tournament ChampionsLafayette
WACUtah Valley37-21Tournament ChampionsBaton Rouge
West CoastSaint Mary's33-23Tournament ChampionsRaleigh
ACCBoston College31-20At-LargeOxford
ACCFlorida State37-20At-LargeTallahassee
ACCGeorgia Tech36-23At-LargeGainesville
ACCMiami (FL)45-11At-LargeCoral Gables
ACCNorth Carolina State35-20At-LargeRaleigh
ACCWake Forest34-25At-LargeCollege Station
AmericanEast Carolina34-21At-LargeCharlottesville
Big 12Oklahoma State36-20At-LargeClemson
Big 12Texas Tech41-16At-LargeLubbock
Big TenMinnesota34-20At-LargeCollege Station
Big TenNebraska37-20At-LargeClemson
Big WestLong Beach State36-20At-LargeCoral Gables
Big WestUC Santa Barbara37-18At-LargeNashville
ColonialUNC Wilmington39-17At-LargeColumbia
C-USAFlorida Atlantic38-17At-LargeCoral Gables
C-USALouisiana Tech40-18At-LargeStarkville
C-USARice35-22At-LargeBaton Rouge
Pac-12Arizona State34-21At-LargeFort Worth
SECLSU42-18At-LargeBaton Rouge
SECMississippi State41-16-1At-LargeStarkville
SECOle Miss43-17At-LargeOxford
SECSouth Carolina42-15At-LargeColumbia
SouthlandSoutheastern Louisiana39-19At-LargeBaton Rouge
Sun BeltSouth Alabama40-20At-LargeTallahassee
West CoastGonzaga35-19At-LargeFort Worth

The ACC tied the all-time record with 10 teams placed in the tournament while those 10 teams set a conference record. The SEC had 7 teams in the field with all 7 teams hosting a regional, which is also a record.

The first timers for 2016 include Alabama State, Fairfield, St. Mary’s (CA), and Utah Valley. There will be no regionals in the Mountain or Pacific time zones as the southeast corridor dominated with the regional hosting sites.

The match ups and schedule for each regional can be found here.

Leave a Reply