Virginia defeated Vanderbilt to win the 2015 College World Series. Who will win in 2016? (Peter Aiken/Getty Images North America)
Virginia defeated Vanderbilt to win the 2015 College World Series. Who will win in 2016? (Peter Aiken/Getty Images North America)

2016 NCAA Division 1 Baseball Conference Tournaments

The 2016 NCAA Division 1 baseball season is closing in on the postseason with the pivotal conference tournaments offering a final chance to make the final field of 64. There are 31 automatic bids handed out for the NCAA Tournament with only three going to regular season champions. Those three conferences are the Big West, Ivy League, and Pac-12 with the Ivy League two playing a best of 3 series to determine their champion.

The regular season champion is included below for each conference. The Horizon League has the regular season champion host the tournament while the Patriot League has the higher seeded team host the Championship Series.  In all, there are 31 automatic bids handed out while another 33 at-large bids will be determined by the Baseball Selection Committee.

ConferenceRegular Season ChampTournament ChampDatesLocationHost
American EastBinghamtonBinghamtonMay 25 - 28Lowell, MassachusettsUMass Lowell
AmericanTulaneConnecticutMay 24 - 29Clearwater, FloridaNeutral Site
ACCMiami (FL)ClemsonMay 24 - 29Durham, North CarolinaDuke
Atlantic 10Rhode IslandRhode IslandMay 25 - 28Bronx, New YorkFordham
Atlantic SunKennesaw StateStetsonMay 24 - 28Nashville, TennesseeLipscomb
Big 12Texas TechTCUMay 25 - 29Oklahoma City, OklahomaNeutral Site
Big EastXavierXavierMay 26 - 29Aberdeen, MarylandNeutral Site
Big SouthCoastal CarolinaCoastal CarolinaMay 24 - 28Lexington, South CarolinaNeutral Site
Big TenMinnesotaOhio StateMay 25 - 29Omaha, NebraskaNeutral Site
Big WestCal State FullertonNo Post Season Tournament
ColonialUNC WilmingtonWilliam & MaryMay 25 - 29Mount Pleasant, South CarolinaCollege of Charleston
C-USAFlorida AtlanticSouthern MissMay 25 - 29Hattiesburg, MississippiSouthern Mississippi
HorizonWright State*Wright StateMay 25 - 28Fairborn, OhioWright State
Ivy LeaugeLou Gehrig: Princeton
Red Rolfe: Yale
PrincetonMay 14 - 15Princeton, New JerseyPrinceton
Metro AtlanticFairfieldFairfieldMay 25 - 28Wappingers Falls, New YorkManhattan
Mid-AmericanKent StateWestern MichiganMay 25 - 29Avon, OhioNeutral Site
Mid-EasternNorth: Norfolk State
South: Florida A&M
Bethune-CookmanMay 19 - 22Salisbury, New YorkMaryland Eastern Shore
Missouri ValleyDallas BaptistDallas BaptistMay 25 - 28Terre Haute, IndianaIndiana State
Mountain WestFresno StateNew MexicoMay 25 - 29Albuquerque, New MexicoNew Mexico
NortheastBryantBryantMay 26 - 29 Norwich, ConnecticutNeutral Site
Ohio ValleySoutheast Missouri StateSoutheast Missouri StateMay 25 - 29Jackson, TennesseeNeutral Site
Pac-12UtahNo Post Season Tournament
PatriotNavy*NavyMay 14 - 15 &
May 20 - 22
Annapolis, MarylandNavy
SECMississippi StateTexas A&MMay 24 - 29Hoover, AlabamaNeutral Site
SouthernMercerWestern CarolinaMay 24 - 29Greenville, South CarolinaNeutral Site
SouthlandSam Houston StateSam Houston StateMay 25 - 29Sugar Land, TexasNeutral Site
SWACAlabama StateAlabama StateMay 18 - 22New Orleans, LouisianaNeutral Site
SummitOral RobertsOral RobertsMay 25 - 28Tulsa, OklahomaOral Roberts
Sun BeltLouisiana LafayetteLouisiana LafayetteMay 25 - 29San Marcos, TexasTexas State
WACSeattle UniversityUtah ValleyMay 26 - 28Stockton, CaliforniaNeutral Site
West CoastBYU
Saint Mary's
Saint Mary'sMay 25 - 28Mesa, ArizonaNeutral Site

* Denotes Highest Seed Hosts Conference Tournament or Final Series

There have already been two champions decided as Princeton who came back from a 1-0 deficit in the Ivy League Championship series to clinch their postseason berth while Alabama State won the SWAC tournament.

As the conference tournament champions are known, the table above will be filled out. The conference tournaments listed above will help determine the field for the 2016 NCAA Division 1 Baseball tournament. We will find out which teams made the tournament on Monday, May 30, 2016 at 12 PM Eastern Time on ESPNU with the Selection Show.

Regional action will commence on Friday, June 3 and end on Monday, June 6 with 16 regionals at designated sites determined by the Selection Committee under a double-elimination format. The 16 regional winners will then play in the Super Regional round from June 10 through June 12 in a best of three series. The Super Regional hosts will be determined after the Regional round.

The tournament wraps up in Omaha, Nebraska with the 8 Super Regional winners advancing to College World Series. The CWS will take place from Saturday, June 18 through Wednesday, June 29. The two teams that remain standing will take place in the CWS Championship Series, which is a best of three.

Leave a Reply