2015 Kentucky Derby Points Leaderboard (Updated through Saturday, April 11, 2015)

Since 2013 there has been a new points system in place to determine the 20 entrants into the Kentucky Derby. The points system replaced the “Graded Earnings” rule that determined entrants into the Derby by how much they won in Graded Stakes races.

Under the new system points are awarded to the first four finishers of the 35 designated stakes races. Those races can be found here. Points awarded range from 10 points for the win to 100 for the latter prep races.


1International Star171Kenneth L. and Sarah K. Ramsey
2Dortmund170Kaleem Shah, Inc.
3Carpe Diem164WinStar Farm, LLC & Stonestreet Farm, LLC
4American Pharoah160Zayat Stables
6Mubtaahij (IRE)100Sheikh Mohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum
7Materiality100Alto Racing LLC
8El Kabeir95Zayat Stables
9Upstart76Ralph E. Evans
10Far Right62Harry T. Rosenblum
11Itsaknockout60Starlight Racing
12Firing Line58Arnold Zetcher
13Dubai Sky50Three Chimneys Farm & Besilu StablesOut With Injury
14Danzig Moon45John C. Oxley
15War Story44Christopher T. Dunn and Loooch Racing Stable, Inc.
16Tencendur41Philip S. Birsh
17Maftool40Godolphin RacingWill Not Run in Derby
18One Lucky Dane40Michael Lund PetersenOut With Injury
19Ami's Flatter40Ivan DalosWill Not Run in Derby
20Stanford40Stonestreet Stables LLC, Mrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor, & Derrick Smith
21Mr. Z34Zayat Stables
22Ocho Ocho Ocho30DP Racing, LLC
23Bolo30Golden Pegasus Racing Inc. & Mack
24Madefromlucky30Cheyenne Stables LLC & Mac NicholWill Not Run in Derby
25Prospect Park30Pam & Martin WygodOff the Derby Trail
26Conquest Typhoon26Conquest Stables LLCWill Not Run in Derby
27Keen Ice22Donegal Racing
28Daredevil20Let's Go StableWill Not Run in Derby
29Golden Barows20Hirotsugu Inokuma & Katsumi YoshidaNot Triple Crown Nominated
30Where's the Moon20J. Kirk & Judy RobisonNot Triple Crown Nominated
31Divining Rod20Lael StablesWill Not Run in Derby
32Tiz Shea D20Wachtel Stable, Brous Stable LLC, & Gary BarberWill Not Run in Derby
34Bold Conquest17Conquest Stables LLC
35Calculator14Richard C. PellOut With Injury - Will miss Triple Crown
36Classy Class13Cheyenne Stables LLCWill Not Run in Derby
37Texas Red12Brehm or Detmar or Vos, et alOut With Injury - Will miss Triple Crown
38The Truth Or Else11Harold Lerner, LLCWill Not Run in Derby
39Leave The Light On10Klaravich Stables Inc. & William H. LawrenceOut With injury
40Far From Over10Black Rock Thoroughbreds, LLPOut With injury
41Pain and Misery10Black Gold RacingWill Not Run in Derby
42Metaboss10M.J. Arndt, S.M. McFetridge, D. Preiss, M. Metanovic, & C. Azcarate
43Motaa (KSA)10Sons of the late King Abdullah bin AbdulazizNot Triple Crown Nominated
44Lucky Player10Jerry Durant
45Firespike10Skychai Racing LLC, Charles Kevin Warner, & Sand Dollar Stable LLC
46Tiznow R J7Mike McCarthy
47Lord Nelson6Peachtree Stable
48Rock Shandy6Donegal Racing
49St. Joe Bay6Altamira Racing Stable & David A. Bernsen
50Toasting Master5West Point Thoroughbreds
51Task Force Glory5Ken & Sarah Ramsey
52Bayerd4Clark O. Brewster
54Cross the Line4Hollendorfer, Todaro, Live Your Dream Stable, Sigband et al.
55Donworth4Regis Racing (Nat Rea)
56Nasa4Someday Farm
57Bluegrass Singer2Crossed Sabres Farm
58Hashtag Bourbon2Bourbon Lane Stable
59Hollywood Critic2Bruce Lunsford
60Fame and Power2Juddmonte Farms Inc.
61General Bellamy2Bach Stables LLC
62Eagle2W.S. FarishOut With Injury
63Pioneerof The West2John C. OxleyNot Triple Crown Nominated
64The Great War1Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith, Mrs. John Magnier & Joseph Allen LLCOff The Derby Trail
65Private Prospect1Mellon Patch Inc.
66Bench Warrant1Doubledown Stables Inc.
67Ackeret1Pick Six Racing & Silver Streak StableNot Triple Crown Nominated
68Danny Boy1Donegal Racing
69Saratoga Heater1P.R. RacingNot Triple Crown Nominated
70Juan and Bina1Grupo 7C Racing Stable
71Another Lemon Drop1Rigney Racing LLC
72Tough Customer1Gary & Mary West
73Comfort1Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners
74Harmonic1R. Awtrey, R. Hammond, Phillips Racing Partnership, C. Schummer, et al.
75Hero Ten All1Edward K. Gaylord II
76Flashaway1John C. Oxley


In 2013, the point cut-off to make the Kentucky Derby field was 10 points by Giant Finish. Fear the Kitten was the first also-eligible with 6 points while the second also-eligible horse, Carving, had 2 points.

In 2014, the magic number was 20 points with Commanding Curve being the last horse to make the field. Pablo Del Monte was the first also-eligible in 2014 with 20 points and drew into the race after the scratch of Hoppertunity. However, the connections decided against running Pablo Del Monte in the Kentucky Derby.

Injuries can and probably will play a factor in the cut-off line for the Derby entrants. 2013 had a rash of injuries, which is why the point total was only 6 to make the also-eligible list. 2014 was closer to the expected norm as it took 20 points to make the Kentucky Derby and even that 20 point total left a horse on the outside looking in on the also-eligible list.

The leaderboard will be updated at the conclusion of each day’s prep race beginning with the Jerome Stakes on Saturday, January 3.

One thought on “2015 Kentucky Derby Points Leaderboard”

Leave a Reply